Jalapeno Beer Cheese Soup for #SundaySupper

February 24, 2013

As a self-proclaimed foodie and ingredient junkie, I often get the questions, “What is your favorite item to cook?” or “What dish are you known for?”  I always find this a difficult question to answer because I don’t have one favorite thing I like to make. What I made every week one month (like my paella obsession) isn’t necessarily what I’m making every weekend now…more and more roasted vegetables.

But something I always circle back to is soup.  I love it. I pretty much have it with every meal. We always have a soup prepared in our fridge to have with lunch at home on the weekends or to take in the office during the week.  I enjoy cold soups in the hot Georgia summers; like Avocado or Gazpacho; or good old traditional standbys like Cream of Broccoli or French Onion.

When I think of cold, rainy, winter nights, which we have had our share of lately, I think of a spicy Beer Cheese Soup. It’s warm, comforting, laced with jalapenos and a delicious afternoon snack on rainy afternoons. Especially when you use a hot pretzel for dipping.  Yum!

DSC00457

Jalapeno Beer Cheese Soup with Himalayan Pink Salt dusted Pretzels

Jalapeno Beer Cheese Soup

Printable Version

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1 chopped yellow onion
  • 1/2 cup chopped celery
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1 TBS all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup chicken broth
  • 1 (12-ounce) beer of choice, I used a Bud Light
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 10 ounces low-fat, extra-sharp cheddar, shredded
  • 8 oz cream cheese, I use Neuchâtel
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon Dijon mustard
  • 2 TBS diced jalapenos + one fresh jalapeno, sliced
  • 3 splashes Worcestershire sauce
  • Frozen pretzels (bake according to instructions)
  • 1 TBS, Himalayan Pink Salt

Directions

Melt butter in a stockpot over medium heat. Add chopped onion, celery and garlic. Saute until soft. Add chicken broth, beer and bay leaf. Heat until it comes to a boil. Slowly add cheese while stirring until just boiling and smooth. Add salt, pepper, mustard, jalapenos and Worcestershire sauce. Reduce heat to low and cook until soup has thickened.

Garnish with sliced jalapeno and serve with a hot baked pretzel.

 

Be sure to check out more delicious soup recipes from the talented members of the #SundaySupper Community:

Do The Chicken Dance (chicken {or other poultry} soups)

Where’s The Beef (Beef Soups)

Pass The Pork. Please (Pork or Sausage Soups)

 Under The Sea (Seafood Soups)

Eat Your Veggies (Chock Full o’ Vegetables Soups)

Some Don’t Like It Hot (Chilled Soups)

Of course once you have seen all of the recipes for the day, you’ll not want to miss our #SundaySupper conversation on twitter each Sunday.

We tweet throughout the day and share recipes from all over the world. This week we will be sharing out special soup recipes!

Our weekly chat starts at 7:00 pm ET and you do not want to miss out on the fun.

Follow the#SundaySupper hash tag and remember to include it in your tweets to join in the chat.

Don’t forget to check out our #SundaySupper Pinterest board for more fabulous recipes and food photos.

Join us Around the Family Table this Sunday at 7pm Eastern Time and share your favorite soup, stew, chowder or bisque recipes with us!

 

43 Responses to “Jalapeno Beer Cheese Soup for #SundaySupper”


  1. […] Jalapeno Beer Cheese Soup by The Hand That Rocks The Ladle […]


  2. I’m sharing this one on Facebook in my cooking group! Awesome post and thank you 🙂


  3. […] Jalapeno Beer Cheese Soup by The Hand That Rocks The Ladle […]

  4. juanitascocina Says:

    Spicy cheesy soup? Yes please!


  5. OMG!! I LOVE this recipe and the pretzels with it! It couldn’t be anymore perfect! I ran with the computer in hand to my Husband to show him! He laughed and asked when am I making this??


  6. […] Jalapeno Beer Cheese Soup by The Hand That Rocks The Ladle […]


  7. […] Jalapeno Beer Cheese Soup by The Hand That Rocks The Ladle […]


  8. […] Jalapeno Beer Cheese Soup by The Hand That Rocks The Ladle […]


  9. […] Jalapeno Beer Cheese Soup by The Hand That Rocks The Ladle […]


  10. […] Jalapeno Beer Cheese Soup by The Hand That Rocks The Ladle […]


  11. One word YUM!!! ~ Bea @ galactosemia in PDX


  12. […] Jalapeno Beer Cheese Soup by The Hand That Rocks The Ladle […]


  13. […] Jalapeno Beer Cheese Soup by The Hand That Rocks The Ladle […]


  14. Beer, cheese, jalapeños? Is this also called the man catching soup? 😉


  15. This soup is right up my alley. Yum, yum!


  16. Beer cheese soup is on of my husbands favorites, but he loves just about anything with jalapenos as well. He would be a huge fan of this!

  17. Tara Says:

    I just made a beer soup not that long ago for my first time and I loved it!! Yours looks so good with the jalapenos in it!! YUM!!

  18. Diana @GourmetDrizzles Says:

    This sounds perfectly delicious! Thanks for the awesome recipe!


  19. Ah yes! This is a classic. I haven’t had it in a while so I need to make this.

  20. Carla Says:

    I made a jalapeno soup once, and this reminds me of it with the spiciness. I like the idea of beer and cheese with it!


  21. Wow I have made beer cheese soup before, but never with jalapenos. My husband would go crazy for this. I’m pretty sure he will be begging me for it once I tell him about it.


  22. I can relate to the hot summers in Georgia. The heat outside does not exactly make one crave a hot soup. Good thing there is still some cold or cool weather for a while so I can make more soups. Love the addition of jalapenos to your beer cheese soup. It is just what a beer cheese soup needs – a kick of heat!


  23. I think I’d need to actually try beer and cheese together to “get” it – people like it but I can’t imagine the flavours together! Too bad I won’t get to try them this lifetime 🙂


  24. […] Jalapeno Beer Cheese Soup by?The Hand That Rocks The Ladle […]


  25. I love making pretzels with a spicy beer cheese dip…and this is like the same thing but in reverse. I must try it, it sounds delicous!


  26. This soup looks awesome and I love that pretzel hanging out on the side… yum!


  27. Jalapeno cheese soup is so good but I bet it is even better with the beer.


  28. Love this soup! yum!!! and with a hot pretzel?! this is perfection in a bowl. my husband would LOVE this!


  29. This sounds fabulous! Spicy beer cheese soup? All my favorite food groups 🙂


  30. […] Jalapeno Beer Cheese Soup by The Hand That Rocks The Ladle […]


  31. […] Jalapeno Beer Cheese Soup by The Hand That Rocks The Ladle […]


  32. […] Jalapeno Beer Cheese Soup by The Hand That Rocks The Ladle […]


  33. […] Jalapeno Beer Cheese Soup by The Hand That Rocks The Ladle […]


Leave a comment