Tostadas Terrificos!

February 23, 2014

I know I have not blogged in awhile, but I have have definitely been cooking!

Most recently, I made an amazing supper of Shrimp Tostadas and served them with Roasted Okra.

My husband and I just returned from a fun, and adventurous, trip to the beautiful country of Costa Rica.  As much as we enjoyed kayaking, hiking and other outdoor activities of La Fortuna and walking the streets of San Jose…we were not crazy about the food.  There is only so much rice and beans, pizza and fried chicken you can eat (random selection, I know).

Anywho, since we were craving Latin American food as soon as we set foot back in the states, I immediately started looking for a recipe to inspire and found this Shrimp Tostada Recipe — que delicioso! It was quick and easy to make, healthy and just what we had been craving.

Of course, I made a few changes.  I used frozen, precooked shrimp and just heated them through with the garlic and salsa in a pan on the stove; subbed Butterhead Lettuce because it’s my fave and added a little coconut oil  to the refried beans (a little trick I learned in my travels to Belize).

It’s also a great dish to have on hand for Meatless Monday (if you eat seafood on Mondays like I do).

What’s your go-to dish when you need a south-of-the-border fix?

La Cena

La Cena

Leave a comment