Lemony Lentils

February 7, 2012

This image shows a whole and a cut lemon.

Image via Wikipedia

So, what does one do when one is fasting (only clear liquids + diet soda) to pass the time?  Cook for the next day!  Yes, it was probably not the best idea I’ve ever had.  I thought cooking would make me less hungry because it would be like a normal night, (me cooking) but it wasn’t.  Because it wasn’t a normal night (me not eating).  Well, in the throes of hunger, I decided to whip up a gigantic batch of lemon lentil soup to share with the ladies in the office, and to go with my mediterranean wraps for the week.

Plus, I had a lot of onions and lemons leftover from Superbowl Party prep.

Lemon Lentil Soup

  • 2 TBS evoo
  • 4 cups chicken stock
  • 1 bay leaf
  • ½ cup red lentils
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 1 carrot, diced
  • 1/4 jalapeno, seeded and chopped
  • ½ cup shredded parmesan
  • 1 lemon, juiced
  • 1/4 cup chopped, fresh parsley

Saute onions in evoo for about 5 miknutes on med heat.  Add garlic, jalapeno, carrots, celery and bay leaf and saute another five minutes.  Add chicken stock and bring to a boil.  Add lentils, salt and pepper and reduce to a simmer.  Let simmer about half and hour.  Turn off heat and add lemon juice.  Serve hot and garnish with parmesan and parsley.

One Response to “Lemony Lentils”

  1. Leigh Says:

    Awesome soup today! Glad we survived yesterday.


Leave a comment