Winner Winner Chicken Dinner

June 24, 2011

On the way back from the beach {sniff} I scoped out recipes.  I wanted something simple, delicious, and  that I didn’t need to make a big grocery trip for.  I opened an email from Saveur (God bless technology) and this mouth-watering looking Rosemary Chicken looked simple enough. I made a quick stop at the DeKalb Farmer’s Market to pick up what I needed…chicken and a lemon (which came to $5.88.  Not bad for dinner for two), and headed home to throw together this super-quick meal.

I served the chicken and pan juices over whole wheat linguine.  (I also made a side of Roasted Broccoli, but thought the plate looked prettier sans the veggies :0)

DSCN4331

An amazing meal

Rosemary Chicken

Printable Recipe

  • 4 whole skin-on chicken legs and thighs
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • 1⁄2 cup flour, for dredging
  • 1⁄4 cup extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 cup white wine
  • 3 sprigs fresh rosemary
  • 2 fresh bay leaves
  • Juice of 1 lemon
1. Heat oven to 425˚. Place chicken pieces in a large ziplock bag and season generously with salt and pepper. Dump flour into bag and shake chicken so it’s totally coated. Heat oil in an iron skillet over medium-high heat. Add chicken and cook, turning once, until browned, about 10 minutes. Add wine, rosemary, and bay leaves. Return pan to heat and cook until wine reduces by half, about 2 minutes. Add 1 1⁄2 cups water and bring to a boil. 
2. Cover skillet, transfer to oven, and cook until chicken is tender, about 45 minutes. Uncover and let chicken skin crisp, 5 minutes. Remove chicken from the oven; stir in lemon juice. Serve chicken with the pan sauce. 

 
SERVES 2 hungry people

2 Responses to “Winner Winner Chicken Dinner”

  1. Lea Ann Says:

    I had pinned this recipe from Saveur and it was so delicious that I had to leave a comment on their site. Saw your comment about your blog post and had to come over and take a look. I served this with roasted fingerling potatoes. Love your idea of linguine. Love this recipe.


Leave a comment