Hubby’s Homecoming

July 29, 2013

My husband and I were both recently out of town, so we didn’t see each other for a couple of weeks. While I was attending a work conference, he and a friend traipsed around Sweden, Denmark and Norway. Needless to say, I had to make his homecoming meal a good one…and what better way to tell someone you love them then with lobster?

This Lobster Roll recipe is incredible. I can honestly say that I have never had a “real” lobster roll in Boston or Maine, but if they taste anything like these came out, it’s a good thing I don’t live in either place. I’d be broke and probably weigh a few more pounds from eating the irresistible sammy multiple times a week. I made just a few small tweaks to the original recipe. I did add Bibb lettuce and I subbed green onions for chives, because that’s what I had.

Yes, lobster is expensive, so do not let any of it go to waste, I opted to buy lobster tail (mainly b/c I didn’t want to have to kill a live lobster by stabbing it to death or throwing it into a pot of boiling water). After roasting it in the oven, and removing the meat, I used the shells to make a rich lobster stock which I will be using in a Lobster Bisque tonight. Note: I used one lobster tail per sandwich, roughly, and roasted a third tail, and put the meat aside, to be used in the bisque tonight.

20130729-015543.jpg

20130729-015611.jpg

20130729-015625.jpg

20130729-015632.jpg

Tell me, what’s you’re favorite way to prepare this sweet crustacean at home?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,195 other followers

